Adventure · Drink · Homemade · Living Abroad · Morocco · Peace Corps

Homemade Electrolyte Drink…. (Definitely Not Gatorade) :)

It’s going to happen… Call me a mind reader, but I know it’s in your future. When you live abroad you are going to get sick! I don’t mean that oh my stomach feels a little funny type of sick, but the kind of sick where you can’t move from the bed and anything you eat or drink is using your intestinal track as a slip and slide. When you roll over you can hear not just your stomach rumbling but all of your insides seem to make noise.

Two things: One, I hope you ate some good street food before you got sick. Two, don’t worry after this you will be able to eat anything for the rest of your trip.

From my experience you will be sick for 1-3 days and it will pass. Before taking any meds I would talk to some sort of a doctor because I’ve heard good arrangements for both sides. What I can tell you is that you will lose alot of water. I recommend the making homemade Gatorade I mean electrolyte drink. 🙂

Homemade Electrolyte Drink
4 tablespoons granulated sugar
1 tablespoon salt
1.5 liters of water (if in Morocco a large Sidi Ali Bottle works great!)

Optional – (If you would like to brighten up the flavor pick from one of the add-ins below)
1/2 cup Orange Juice
the juice of 3 lemons
1 tablespoons or 1/2 a packet of tang or c’bon or any other drink mix

Mix it up and enjoy… ok it might not taste great but it will help your body. 🙂  #peacecorpstricks

Share your thoughts!

