Essential Oils · Healthy · Life · School Counselor · Self Care

Self Care Sunday

Self-Care Sunday

Let it go! Let it go! Can’t hold it back anymore! Let it go! Let it go! Turn my back and slam the door!

Sometimes the best thing you can do for self care is to LET IT GO! Now take it from me that is not easy. Especially if you care too much or put your whole heart into what you are doing. Most of the time I can be pretty flexible and make most things work, but when things really hurt my heart I have to take a step back and realize what I can control and what I can’t. I need to do my best and let the universe take care of the rest. Hdubs can attest to many nights when I am crying or yelling about things that should be different but aren’t.

This has NEVER been easier for me and I am not an expert, but I would like to share with you what helps.

When I can’t sleep: 

Essential oils  (Yes, I drank that Kool Aid) – Edens Garden has a goodnight blend that I love to diffuse. It not only helps me to relax and sleep well but it helps Hdubs too. I also have a pillow spray that I made for nights when I am almost there but just need a little help.

Pillow Spray

4 oz glass spray jar

2 tbls witch hazel

10 drops Lavender Essential Oil

10 drops Bergamot Essential Oil

Distilled Water

Fill the bottle with the ingredients above in the order listed. Add enough water to fill the bottle but do not over flow. Store out of direct sunlight and shake before using it.

Relax Rain App – To help my brain shut down for the night I love to turn on this app. It blocks out other sounds and gives me something to concentrate on while I am trying to fall asleep. There are plenty of these apps out there, I like this one because it’s easy to use, free. It also has some nice features like setting a timer for it to turn off and has several different rain sound options.

When I’m at School: 

www.calm.com – I like to keep this running on my computer through out the day. Music is too distracting for me and I have to worry about the words and the commercials that might come up. I love that calm.com does not have a timer where it stops playing unless you interact with it. I love that there are several choices for soothing sounds or pictures and that even if I lock my computer it will keep playing.

Anywhere else: 

Stretching: Sometimes just doing some basic stretches can relax your body and feel really good! If I ever find myself with a few extra minutes with kids I have them stand up and stretch out.

Taking my shoes off and standing on the ground outside: Frequently when I am dismissing kids outside you will see me standing with one shoe on and one bare foot on the ground. I wear ballet flats without socks almost everyday (yes even in the Wisconsin winter) which makes it much easier to slip a shoe off with out much notice.

www.pixelthoughts.co – This is a 60 second meditation tool to help you clear your mind. It’s easy, it’s fast and it’s helpful.

I hope you find at least one of these helpful and as always if you try something and like it let me know. If you try something and don’t like it let me know. If you try something new let me know. Self Care is a life long journey that we can help each other on. Happy Sunday!

One thought on “Self Care Sunday

Share your thoughts!

