Budget · Foodie · Healthy · Homemade · Meal Planning

This weeks meal plan – I love Budget Bytes!

I found Budget Bytes about 5 years ago while surfing the internet looking for cheap and healthy meals. I fell in love with it right away. What I love about her is how easy the meals are.  The meals for this week all come from the blog Budget Bytes.

I first started using this blog when I was living in the US and Hdubs was still in Morocco. I was working full time going to grad school part time and needing to make single serving meals that I could freeze and pull out later. Budget Bytes was such a life saver!

It was also a much smaller operation back then! It is inspiring to watch how this blog as grown and formed it’s self over the last few years. She even has a cookbook out! (It’s on my wishlist) 

Ok getting to the point… here are my all time favs (and this weeks menu) from Budget Bytes.

Breakfast

Oatmeal Cookie Baked Oatmeal  – I’m a sucker for some baked oatmeal because if it’s thick enough you can re-heat and grab it like a breakfast bar… I think my sugar monster is coming out also because it’s healthy?!?

Ok I also love this one …even though I didn’t make it this week! 🙂 Cinnamon Date and Walnut Baked Oatmeal

Freezer Breakfast Burritos – These saved my life during grad school. I could make  a bunch in a couple hours on a weekend. I never had to worry about having a healthy breakfast. Or dinner if I was too exhausted too cook.

Southwest Breakfast Casserole – Even though Whole 30 says black beans are bad for your gut…. I love them… in every shape and form. 🙂

Lunch

Teriyaki Meatball Bowls – My mouth is watering just thinking about these. Before you read it and think this is way too much work, just try it. Once you roll our own meatballs you will never go back. (And it’s so easy to make meatballs) This is the only recipe that I tweak a little because it calls for pork and well we don’t eat that. 🙂 I swap the pork out for turkey and I double to sauce. (I never had enough sauce to cover my rice.) — This is a great make ahead and split into lunch size portions and freeze for future lunches. 

Slow Cooker Taco Bowls – This was one of my go to’s until Hdubs showed up. 🙂 He’s not really into crockpots akathe American tajine but I love him anyway. So I usually make this and use it for my lunches. Once again great to make ahead and freeze into lunch portions

 

Dinner

Sesame Glazed Salmon and Green Beans – Yum is all I have to say. YUM! Ok I have more to say … it’s super quick and looks fancy… sometimes I make it when people come for dinner and they are always impressed. If they only knew how easy it was.

Sausage and Kale Soup – I love it but I don’t make it much because Hdubs is not a soup man. This my also be one of my Ramadan fast breaking recipes for this year. Plus, like most soups, I feel like it’s better the second day!

Soy Dijon Chicken Thighs with Sweet Potatoes  – A classic dish that you can pair with some steamed green beans and rice or tossed salad and couscous or quinoa.

Snacks

Smoothie Packs – Way cheaper than buying frozen fruit and great for quick liftor’s (breaking of the fast meals) during Ramadan.

Cinnamon Spice Biscotti – Hdubs loves these and I pretend they are good for his heart because they have cinnamon in them?!? haha!

Some of the other snacks we will have around this week are celery and peanut butter, lara bars, graham crackers, cheese and fruit.

So looking at this list that I have made and realizing that we only have two people living in our house I might not make everything on this list… but these are still my favorite recipes from one of the best blogs out there. Enjoy!

Share your thoughts!

